Let’s Play Catch Up, Shall We?

Well hello there! Life seems to have gotten away from me. I’m not great at this thing they call blogging, however I’m doing great at this thing they call training! A LOT has happened, but I will cover just a couple things as to not bore everyone to death. First things first, my 10K!

Knotts Coaster Run Start Line Knotts Coaster Run Bib and Medal

What an experience! It’s safe to safe, I really really enjoy races. What a rush! It was very exciting and yet nerve wracking all at once. I finished under my goal time, which pleases me very much. I finished in 1 hour 25 minutes, with an average of 13:40 per mile. Go me! If you recall, my goal was under 14:00 minutes per mile. Definitely blew that away! My brother also ran with me, which meant the world to me. He hardly broke a sweat (whatever) but he was the best running companion a sister could ask for. He coached me the entire race. I don’t think I would have done nearly as well without him. I am very appreciative and love my brother dearly! My wonderful and supportive husband found his way to cheer me on at three different spots throughout the race. My sister in law and nephew were also there so I had a great support system that day. All in all, an amazing first race for me!

Let’s talk training. Saturday, April 18, 2015, I ran a whole mile without talking a walk break. A whole mile! That’s the first time since, well, who knows when! After that I was feeling incredible, so I ran 3 more miles! I took walk breaks about 5-6 times for about 10 seconds to slow my heart rate (apparently breathing is necessary), however other than that, I ran most of my 4.07 mile workout that day. Average pace was 13:20 so I’m doing great!

I’ve really settled in to running. I understand now what it is to push yourself, and what it is to simply run/jog for exercise. Earlier this month I ran 2.94 miles with an average of 12:39 as well as 2.04 miles with an average of 12:23, which is my fastest to date. The days following those runs my knees and shins hurt. I’ve learned that I can’t push it every run, or I’ll pay for it. I now understand the difference between race running and exercise running. Once I settled into exercising, I can run for quite awhile! Progress is such a wonderful feeling.

There’s much more to share, but for now how about an update about my weight. I am down 38 pounds! And it feels so good. I went to buy a shirt last week and I was able to buy it in the normal people section of Macy’s, not the “woman” section. What an amazing confidence booster. Pretty huge milestone for me. #LighterLauren is feeling great and getting smaller!

2 Comments

Filed under Health & Wellness, Life, LighterLauren

2 responses to “Let’s Play Catch Up, Shall We?

  1. 37 pounds? You go, girl!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you Mark! Feeling really great!! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

